Author Topic: Recollections of Bhagavan - V.S.V. Mani - Mountain Path, April - June 2010:  (Read 3076 times)

Subramanian.R

• View Profile

I originally came from Tiruvannamalai.  I worked in a bank and eventually retired as the Chairman of a bank.  Though I started
visiting the Asramam in 1926, at the age of twelve years, it was only from 1939 onwards, that I was a regular visitor to Sri
Ramanasramam.  So I was fortunate in being associated with Sri Bhagavan for over 70 years. 

I saw a photo of Sri Bhagavan in a friend's house and afterwards I was very eager to see Sri Bhagavan.  One day, I reached
Tiruvannamalai by train in the early morning, walked to the Asramam and arrived at 6.30 am.  I prostrated before Sri Bhagavan.
He asked me from where I had come.  I told him that I was studying in Sethupathi High School at Madurai and came for Sri
Bhagavan's darsan.  I got into the habit that, whenever I went out, permission would first be taken of Sri Bhagavan before
leaving the Asramam. I wanted to see the place where the Kartigai Deepam was lit.  Sri Bhagavan told me to on the straight route
and not to follow any shorter cuts.  After passing Skandasramam, we took an apparently shorter route.  There we met monkeys and
cobras on the way.  Frightened by this, we returned to the straight path, as instructed by Sri Bhagavan.  Then we understood the
value of His instructions as we would encounter obstructions if we did not follow Sri Bhagavan's advice.

I was married to Lalita who was born and brought up in the Asramam.  My marriage was fixed in Sri Bhagavan's Presence. My
wife had a close acquaintance with Him even from her childhood.  She realized that He was a Sannyasi like others but also
her relative so to speak.             

Our first child was unable to walk until the age of two.  When we brought the child to the Asramam.  Sri Bhagavan stroked the