Author Topic: Sangam Literature  (Read 7257 times)

atmavichar100

• View Profile
Sangam Literature
« on: December 19, 2012, 01:10:01 PM »
Dear Friends

Few years back in a different  forum there was a sort of heated debate between Sangam literature and Bhakti Literature ( Thevarams , Thiruvachagam , Divya Prabandhams ) etc and the primary point of debate was that Bhakti literature hijacked the Sangam literature and they saw it as a sort of Brahmin Conspiracy as most of the Sangam works were done by Jains , Buddhist , Atheists  and was anti vedic etc ,while the supporters of Bhakti literature say that Sangam literature just focused on love , heroism , virtues etc but not on God , Moksha, Vedas  etc which Bhakti literature gave lot of emphasis and hence it became popular . The only Sangam literature that became popular with both parties was Thirukural but then it has hundreds of commentaries each contradicting one another .

I am not an expert in either Sangam literature or Bhakti literature but would like someone to throw more light on Sangam literature and how it differs from Bhakti literature .

Om Peace .
However many holy words you read, however many you speak, what good will they do you if you do not act on upon them? - Buddha

Subramanian.R

• View Profile
Re: Sangam Literature
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 01:30:35 PM »
Dear atmavichar100,

1. Sangam Literature comes under three main categories. The books of Eight (ettu thohai), The books of ten (Pathu Paattu)
and the books of 18 (Pathinen keezh kaNakku). Apart from these, there are five great epics of which only Silappaidikaram and
Manimekalai are available. The other three namely, Jeevaka Chintamani, Valaiyapathi, and Kundalakesi  have been lost in tsunami
that hit southern Tamizh Nadu in and around 2nd Century before Christ.

2. All these are not written by non Hindus. There are several poems in each by Hindus or Saivities to be strict. Even in