Author Topic: Panchadasi - (179)  (Read 1604 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 48170
    • View Profile
Panchadasi - (179)
« on: August 28, 2008, 01:00:13 PM »
The Chapter XV continues....

Verse 26:- In stone etc., he should reject both the name and
the form and meditate on existence.  In rajasika and  tamasika
vrittis, he should reject the misery which is associated with them,
and meditate on the existence and consciousness.

Verse 27:-  And in the sattvika vrittis, he should contemplate
on ll the three, existence, consciousness and bliss.  These
three kinds of contemplation are successively called inferior,
middling and superior contemplations. 

Verse 28:-  Even for a man of dull intelect, meditation on the
characteristics of Brahman is good.  To tell this only, the chapter
'the Bliss of Objects' is described here.

Verse 29:-  After having had enough of enough of enjoyments
when the mental modficiations become indifferent to objects,
and become detached, the contemplation regarding the bliss
of impressions arise, which is the highest.  Thus are the four
kinds of contemplation on Brahman described.

(The first three types of contemplation have reference to
particular conditions of the mind resulting from external
objects.  The fourth one arises from a neutral or indiffernt
state of mind.)

to be contd...

Arunachala Siva.