Author Topic: Know About Swami Sathyananda Saraswathi  (Read 1489 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3557
    • View Profile
Know About Swami Sathyananda Saraswathi
« on: October 10, 2011, 01:09:35 PM »
Swami Sathyananda Saraswathi (Hindu Spiritual Teacher, Orator, Historian And Religious Scholar)


Swami Sathyananda Saraswathi (September 22, 1935 | November 23, 2006) also known as Chenkottukonam Swamiji, was a Hindu spiritual teacher, orator, historian and religious scholar.

He was the founder of Hindu Aikya Vedi, and remained its chairman until his death.

Sathyananda established Sree Rama Dasa Mission.

He was an exponent of the 4 spiritual paths Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Raja Yoga and Karma Yoga, a devotee of the Divine mother goddess, and a yogi.

He was a poet, an orator, historian & religious scholar whose emphasis was on the scientific interpretation of religion to highlight the spirit behind it, and was known for his efforts for the cause of Hindu unity in India and the temple rights restoration movement.

Sathyananda conducted Sathakoti Archana (1 Billion Holy Names of the Divine Mother) in Thiruvananthapuram in 2000.

Sathyananda was born Shekharan Nair on September 22, 1935 in a middle class family in the village Andoorkonam near Thiruvananthapuram.

He graduated in Economics and History from Mahatma Gandhi College and took a Bachelor of Education degree from the University College, Trivandrum.

While Shekharan Nair was working as an teacher at a high school, he was summoned to the ashram on the eve of his proposed departure to the Himalayas by Neelakanta Gurupadar.

He was initiated in to Sannyasa and trained by his guru, and after the samadhi he started building his organization.

Sathyananda registered Sree Rama Dasa Mission with its motto "Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam" in 1981.


As the president of the Nilackal Action Committee Sathyananda restored the holy place for Ayyappa devotees near Sabarimala and settled the dispute between Hindu and Christian religious groups.

He played the key-role in Guruvayoor Temple Liberation Struggle and agitations against Devaswom Bill in 1996.

Sathyananda also ensured uninterrupted continuation of Gurupadar's tradition of Parayanam (recitation) of entire Adhyatma Ramayana daily at the temple at Chenkottukonam for more than 8 decades and it still continues to this day.

In 1989, Sathyananda started the Rama Navami Rathyatra covering the southern States of India annually since then.

Sathyananda founded Manishi Herbal Research Foundation for ayurvedic research and production, and prescribed the formulations of many previously unknown and potent medicines, e.g. launching a health drink called "Herbal Cola".

A spiritual nucleus in the ashram premises at Trivandrum in the form of a 108 foot high temple was named "Jyotikshetra" by Sathyananda.

Sathyananda mission worked for the spiritual resurrection by putting an end to inequalities and caste-based discrimination in the Indian society.

In 2000 Sathyananda organized and carried out Shatakoti Archana (1 Billion Chants of Divine Mother’s Name), in which thousands of people devotedly chanted and prayed.

Sathyananda also inaugurated the Second and Third National Conventions of the Kerala Hindus of North America in November 2003 and July 2005 respectively.

Sathyananda died on November 24, 2006 at Thiruvananthapuram after prolonged illness.

The former Union Minister O. Rajagopal in his condolence message termed the Guru as a brave Acharya (teacher) who fought all his life for Hindu renaissance and Hindu unity.His mortal remains are housed in the sanctum sanctorum at the Temple of Luminance in Chenkottukonam, Trivandrum.

Sathyananda established centres of Sree Rama Dasa Mission in New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Chicago, Richmond, Virginia, Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles and San Jose in the USA, and has moreover disciples and active centers in Malaysia, New Zealand, Switzerland, the Caribbean Islands and the United Kingdom. He conducted tours all over India and countries like USA, Canada, Singapore, Switzerland, Malaysia, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana and Suriname.