Author Topic: Panchadasi - (49)  (Read 1699 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 48185
    • View Profile
Panchadasi - (49)
« on: August 22, 2008, 11:31:43 AM »
The Chapter I continues.....

Verse 15:-  Prakrti (that is, the primordial substance) is that
in which, there is the reflection of Brahman, that is Pure
Consciousness and Bliss and is composed of Sattva, Rajas,
and Tamas (in a state of homoeneity).  It is of two kinds.

Verse 16:- When the element of sattva is pure, Prakrti is
known as Maya.  When impure (being mixed up with rajas
and tamas), it is called Avidya.  Brahman, reflected in Maya,
is known as omniscient Isvara, who controls Maya.

Verse 17:- But the other (that is Jiva, which is Brahman
reflected in Avidya) is subjected to Avidya, impure Sattva.
This Jiva is of different grades due to degrees of admixture
of rajas and tamas.  The Avidya, the nescience, is the causal
body.  When the Jiva identifies himself with this causal body,
he is called Prajna.

Verse 18:- At the command of Isvara and for the experience
of Prajna, the five subtle elements, ether, air, fire, water
and earth, arose from the part of Prakrti in which tamas

Verse 19:- From the sattva part of the five subtle elements
of Prakrti arose in turn the five subtle sensory organs of hearing,
touch, sight, taste, and smell.

Verse 20:- From a combination of them all, that is sattva
portion of the five subtle elements, arose the organ of inner
conception called antakharana.  Due to difference of function,
it is divided into two.  Manas (mind) is that aspect whose function
is doubting and buddhi (intellect) is sthat whose functions are
discrimination and determination. 

Verse 21:- From the rajas portion of the five elements, arose
in turn the organs of action known as the organ of speech,
the hands, the feet, the organs of excretion and procreation.

Verse 22:- From a combination of them of them all, arose
the vital air, prana.  Again, due to difference of functions
it is divided into five.  They are prana, apana, samana, utana
and vyana.

Verse 23:-  The five sensory organs, the five organs of action,
the five vital airs, mind and intellect, all the seventeen together
form the subtle body, which is called Sukshma or linga sarira.

Verse 24:-  By identifying himself with the subtle boyd and
thinking it to be his own, Prajna becomes known as Taijasa,
and Isvara as Hiranyagarbha.  Their difference is sthe one
betwen the individual and collective, (that is, one is identified
with a single subtle body and the otehr with totality of subtle

Verse 25:- Isvara, as Hiranyagarbha, is called 'totality' because
of his sense of idenification with all the subtle bodes of the
universe.  The other, the Taijasa, is called the 'individual'
because it lacks this knowledge and is conscious only of his
self, being identified with his own subtle body only.     

to be contd...

Arunachala Siva.