Author Topic: Intensity of self-enquiry  (Read 3242 times)

nobody

• View Profile
Intensity of self-enquiry
« on: August 09, 2009, 07:13:27 PM »
Friends,
I was going through this article here:
http://www.arunachala-ramana.org/articles/news_self_enquiry.htm

And this line caught my eye:
"First and foremost Bhagavan stated that self-enquiry should be performed with the same intensity as that of a drowning man struggling for air, only then can it succeed."

Questions:
How to create such intensity?
Even if one artificially creates such intensity, is it really possible to sustain it over a long period of time?
Also, will it not lead to dangerous suppresssion of thoughts and desires which can later rise up uncontrollably, leading to disaster?

It seems to be a case of "Unless you have intensity you cannot practice, but unless you practice you cannot have intensity"!

Chuck Cliff

• View Profile
Re: Intensity of self-enquiry
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 02:05:38 AM »
I'm rather new at taking Ramana's teaching to heart, so take my comments with a dose of skepticism.

I'm not sure that "self inquiry" entails or implies "suppression of thought".  the effort is in paying attention to the spiritual heart or "hridaya" -- the empirical and its thoughts follow.

One western visitor reported that he placed his right hand on his right breast and told her, "Here lies the Heart, the dynamic, spiritual Heart. It is called Hridaya and is located on the right side of the chest".

Elsewhere he told another that he didn't mean that the spiritual heart was literally located in the physical body, that it was neither within or without, yet he told people this because that is where people people instinctively localize their personal identity.