Author Topic: Kaivalya Navaneetam - 2  (Read 1979 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47994
    • View Profile
Kaivalya Navaneetam - 2
« on: May 15, 2009, 01:05:50 PM »
Verse 33 to 34:

The guru then says how the living beings evolved.  All living
beings take birth from four generating causes and they seven
types of births.

The generating causes are as under:

1. Jarayujam - taking birth from foetus.  Humans and animals.

2. Andajam - taking birth from eggs. Birds, fishes etc.,
3. Svedhajam - taking birth from moisture. Like mosquitoes
                                and bacteria.

4. Udhbheejam - taking birth from seeds.  Plants, trees and

The seven types of births are:

Heavenly beings; humans; animals; birds; crawlers; ever living
                   in water; plants & trees.

Verse 51 to 53:

There are seven states or avasthas for Jiva in his evolution as

1. Ajnanam - Ignorance - Living without ever the knowledge of
2. Avaranam - Living with the idea that there is no Brahman and
                        even if it is there, it cannot be seen.
3. Vikshepam - Living with ever the thought that he is only a
                         Jiva which is not Brahman.
4.  Parokasha Jnanam - Knowing from Guru about Brahman, but
                          only indicatively.  This is hidden knowledge.
5.  Aparoksha Jnanam - After Atma Vichara, the disciple, having
                  cleared all the doubts and knowing that he his Advaita
                   Brahman.  This is revealed knowledge.
6.  Dhukka Nvritti - Leaving all the false conceptions, that he is
                    Jiva, the doer and the enjoyer, and also the
                    sorrow of birth and death.

7. Anandam - Experiential Bliss, after ridding all the miseries
                        and having a feeling that he has completed his

(Source: As indicated in Part 1. The translation is mine.)

Arunachala Siva.