Author Topic: Tat Tvam Asi - 7  (Read 1301 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47994
    • View Profile
Tat Tvam Asi - 7
« on: May 09, 2009, 02:08:53 PM »
We have seen how the transcendental Self is segemented into the
three states of waking, dream and deep sleep.  Although, the Self
remains unchanging and uninvolved, it is called Visva, Taijasa,
and Prajna at each of the three levels of experience.  We have also
seen how the nameless Self at the waking and dream levels have become involved and intentional, thus giving rise to the knowledge
situation.  An essential feature of both these states is antahkarana-
vritti,which makes cognition and experience possible.

In the ultimate analysis, the Self or Brahman from the acosmic standpoint is the only Reality.  As the everluminous revealing
effulgence, the Self is always known.  Every act of cognition and
every claim made by the Jiva presupposes the Self.  Perhaps, no
where else has this been summed up more cogently than the point
made by Yajnavalyaka in the Brahadaranyaka Upanishad, (4.3.6),
when the Sage says, "When the sun and the moon have both set,
the fire has gone out, and speech has stopped.... the Self serves as
his (the Jiva's) light.  It is through the light of the Self that he sits,
goes out, works and returns."

Being the very basis of experience, the Self can never be known.

(Source: As indicated in Part 1)

Arunachala Siva.