Author Topic: Tat Tvam - 5  (Read 1347 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 48185
    • View Profile
Tat Tvam - 5
« on: May 09, 2009, 01:04:34 PM »
It is Ludwig Wittgenstein who taught us that at the higest level
of mystical experience, what cannot be spoken of can only be shown.
Wittgenstein made the distinction between the language of saying
and he language of showing.  The language of saying is effective upto certain point.  Beyond which, language is ineffective in describing
that experience.  Here too, the term "Fourth" is an admission of the limitation of language.  What can we call the Self per se, which is beyond expereinces and therefore, all concepts?  Since Visva is designated as one, Taijasa as two and Prajna as three, the term
'The Fourth" is chosen keeping with the same parlance to show that
the Self is by itself and not involved in any kind of expereince.  It is
important to understand that this term does not imply the existence
of four Selves.  Also, one should guard againt the mistaken notion
that the Fourth is referring to a state beyond the deep sleep level.

[ Bhagavan Ramana has also explained this in one of His conversations.  Turiya does not mean a state beyond the first three.
It does not, for that matter,  mean a state at all.  There is only one, that is Turiya or the Self.  When the Self or Turiya operates with
body-mind complex, three different states are said to be experienced
by the Jiva.  Saiva Siddhanthis have explained this state with some
wonderful similes.  They say it is 'sleeping without sleep'!  "It is full moon on a high noon!" etc., Gaudapada and therefore the later writers like Sankara called it as Fourth, only to highlight it as different from the first three.]

(Source:  As indicated in Part 1)

Arunachala Siva.