Author Topic: Chapter VIII of Chandogya Upanishad - 4  (Read 1712 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47994
    • View Profile
Chapter VIII of Chandogya Upanishad - 4
« on: April 28, 2009, 10:41:12 AM »
Section 5:

1. Then that which is known as Yajna (sacrifice) is brahmacharya.
This is because one who knows the Self attains Brahmaloka through
brahmacharya.  Again, that which is known a Ishta (worship)
is brahmacharya, for the desired Self is attained through brahmacharya.

2. Then, that which is known as 'Sattarayana' [ a sacrifice lasting
a long time] is the brahmacharya, for it is through brahmacharya
that the individual self gets liberated [attains union with the Cosmic Self, Brahman].  Then, that which is called Mauna [silence] is brahmacharya for throough brahmacharya one remains absorbed in
the thought of it.

3. Then, that which is known as 'Anasakyanana' [the path of fasting] is brahmacharya, for through brahmacharya one attains the Self
which is immortal.  Then, that which is called 'Aranayana' [living
in the forest ] is brahmacharya.  This is because, in Brahmaloka,
which is the third world from the earth, there are two oceans called Ara and Nya. There also one finds a lake called Airammadiya [ so called because some are intoxicating], a peepal tree always exuding some juice, a city called Aprarajita [the invincible] belonging to Brahma, and a canopy of gold specially made by the Lord.

[One can even ignore all these imagery and names.  What is stressed is not mere abstinence from sexual pleasures, but , desiring unlimited food, drinks, gurrulous speech etc.,]

4. When they attain through brahmacharya the two oceans, Ara and
Nya, in Brahmaloka, that Brahmaloka is theirs and they can then move freely in all the worlds.

Arunachala Siva.