Author Topic: The Seven Stages of Knowledge  (Read 2733 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47994
    • View Profile
The Seven Stages of Knowledge
« on: November 26, 2008, 12:10:01 PM »
On 25th November 2008, post, Matthias said: Even to ask the
question Who am I? is a gift of grace.  It is very true.  Not everyone
asks for it.  Many people in the world, while praying, ask for Heaven.
Only a very few seek for Moksha or Liberation.  They proceed with
self enquiry.

In this connection, last evening I read a passage in Volume 1
of Arunachala's Ramana, Boundless Ocean of Grace, a recent
8-volume publication of Sri Ramansramam. The passage talks
about 7 stages of Knowledge for liberation, detailed by Bhagavan
Ramana to Swami Natananda, which is finding place in Spiritual
Instructions, Upadesa Manjari. 

The Jnana-Bhoomikas, the seven stages of knowledge are:

1. Subheccha  - the Desire for Enlightenment

2. Vicharana - enquiry (Who am I?)

3. Tanmanasa - tenuous mind

4. Sattvapathi - Self Realization

5. Asamsakti - Non attachment

6. Padarthabhavana - Non perception of objects

7. Turyaga - Transcendence

Those who have attained the last four bhoomikas are called,
Brahmavid, Brahmavidvara, Brahamavidyavara and Brahmavidvarishta,
respectively.  The learned Sage belongs to the fourth stage.  The
self-realized person like Bhagavan Ramana is in the seventh stage.
Most of the seekers like us are in the first three stages.

(Source:  Upadesa Manjari, Swami Natananda and Bhagavan Ramana
dialogue.  Part IV.  The Complete Works of Sri Ramana Maharshi,
Tamil, Sri Ramansramam, Tiruvannamalai.)

Arunachala Siva.