Author Topic: Atma Vichara and other Yogas.  (Read 2065 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47994
    • View Profile
Atma Vichara and other Yogas.
« on: October 22, 2008, 12:19:28 PM »
Yoga means 'uniting.'  The English word 'yoke' came from this.
There are four yogas, karma, bhakti, hata and jnana. There are
subdivisions within these four yogas also.  But Bhagavan Ramana
always prescribed Jnana Marga, that is Vichara.  The other yogas
are more difficult to observe and these invariably require men
and materials from outside.  Further, any mistakes on these will
create problems for the practioner also.

Bhagavan Ramana surprisingly, one day, was advising about the details
of Kundalini Yoga to a North Indian. Since that person might have
already reached an advanced stage on this, Bhagavan chose to advise
him on various aspects of that yoga and as to how to overcome
pitfalls if any.

Similarly, during the last months of His stay in His body, Bhagavan
Ramana while resting in the special room, advised His attendant
and bade him to bring a person, again a North Indian, into His
room.  This visitor went with a translator and Bhagavan was
explaining to him some details for a long time.  From the translator,
it was learnt that Bhagavan was expalining to him how to overcome
the difficulties, when that visitor in his Kundalini Yoga practice,
could not go beyond a particular chakra.  The North Indian visitor
profusely thanked Bhagavan Ramana and took leave.

Major Chadwick says that four persons were outstanding in his
times, for the four yogas.

Jnana Yoga     -  Bhagavan Ramana
Bhakti Yoga    -  Sri Ramakrishna
Hata Yoga       -  Sri Aurobindo.
Karma Yoga    - Sri Chandrasekara Sarasvati of Kanchi Sankara Math.

(Source:  Sadhuvin Ninaivugal - Major Chadwick - Sadhu Arunachala.

Arunachala Siva.