The Forum dedicated to Arunachala and Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi

Ramana Maharshi => The teachings of Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi => Topic started by: soham3 on December 15, 2010, 11:18:22 PM

Title: Mental States
Post by: soham3 on December 15, 2010, 11:18:22 PM
Yoga Vasishtha & Kaivalya Navaneetam talk of 8 mental states similar to 8 stages of Yoga. Mind is progressively made more diluted called tanumaanasa in sanskrit. Final stage is manonaasha.
Title: Re: Mental States
Post by: Subramanian.R on December 16, 2010, 10:49:21 AM

Dear soham3,

Yes.  Kaivayla Navaneetam says that there are 7 stages of
ignorance and 7 stages of knowledge, before liberation.  The
latter 7 are called mental states or planes of enlightenment.
The eighth one is added later.  Sri Bhagavan does not accept
the eighth one.

The 7 stages of ignorance:

1. Brihat Jagrat - the germinal state of waking.
2. Jagrat -  Waking state.
3. Maha Jagrat - the waking state firmly established.
4. Jagrat Svapna - day dreaming
5. Svapna -  dreaming state
6. Svapna Jagrat - cogitation of the dream after waking up from it.
7. Sushupti - dreamless deep sleep.

The 7 stages of knowledge or planes of enlightenment:

1. Subeccha - desire for Truth
2. Vicharana - investigation into the Truth.
3. Tanumanasi - Pure and attenuated mind.
4. Sattvpatti - Realization of Truth.
5. Asamskti - a detached outlook on the universe and its contents.
6. Padarthabhavani - untained awareness of the Self.
7. Turiya - the highest and indescribable state.
8. Turiyatita  - actually it is a state after Videha Mukti, the state
of liberation after disembodiment.  But Bhagavan Ramana does not accept this since it cannot be established by a person living and
explaining all these.  There is nothing to speak of, says Sri

Arunachala Siva. 
Title: Re: Mental States
Post by: soham3 on December 16, 2010, 07:51:45 PM
Some hold the view that Turiya is Pure Awareness and Turiyatita is to be Aware of Awareness.
Title: Re: Mental States
Post by: Subramanian.R on December 17, 2010, 09:35:06 AM

No.  Sri Bhagavan did not say anything like that.  How to be aware
of Awareness?  If I am a man, should I be always aware that I am a man?  Even the state that 'I am' is natural to everyone.

Arunachala Siva.