The Forum dedicated to Arunachala and Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi

Ramana Maharshi => The teachings of Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi => Topic started by: Subramanian.R on January 10, 2010, 11:21:35 AM

Title: Sapta Jnana Bhoomikas
Post by: Subramanian.R on January 10, 2010, 11:21:35 AM
Sapta Jnana Bhoomikas or the Seven Stages of Knowledge-Experience, is mentioned both in Upadesa Manjari and Vichara
Sangraham, in the Collected Works of Sri Ramana Maharshi.
Of these, Sadhu Natananada himself is the questioner to Bhagavan
Ramana in Upadesa Manjari.  Vichara Sangraham is of course, is
edited by Sadhu Natananada.

David Godman says that the sevem stages--classifications, are as under, as mentioned in these two books compiled by Sadhu Natananda.

1. Subheccha - desire for enlightenment.
2. Vicharana - enquiry.
3. Tanumanasa - tenuous mind.
4. Sattvapatti - self realization.
5. Asamsakti - non attachment.
6. Padartha bhavanana - non perceptio of objects.
7. Turyaga - transcendence.

Those who have attained the last four stages -- bhoomikas,
are called -

Brahmavid - the One who has realized Brahman.
Brahmavidvara - the One who is superior among the knowers of
Brahmavidvarya - the best among the knowers of Brahman.
Brahmavidvarishta - the very best among the knowers of Brahman.

I am able to hear some of the readers asking 'What use of these classifications?  What does it really mean?  What is the use
of me knowing these?

For this Bhagavan Ramana Himself has answered:

The marks of the stages 4 to 7 are based upon the experiences
of the realized person, Jivan Mukta.  They are not states of knowledge and release.  So far,as knowledge and release are
concerned, no distinction is made in these four stages.

David Godman adds in his book (with commentary), on Sri Ramana

One should remember the different phases that Bhagavan Himself
went through.  He experienced Nirvikalpa Samadhi while He was
at school without any effort on that eventful day in Madurai. 

During the early period of His stay in Arunachala, for many years,
He was immersed in the transcendent state, like a Brahma Varishta, without the feelings of sense perception, hunger and thirst.

Afterwards, He attained the Sahaja state and remained in that state, until His final nirvana, shining as an accomplished Brahma

(Source:  Sri Ramana Darsanam, Tr. and commentary by David
Godman of Sadhu Natananda's book.)

Arunachala Siva.